Baked Spaghetti

There was this one children’s song that I used to always sing every time we had spaghetti for dinner-something along the lines of, “Daddy makes the best spaghetti!! Daddy makes the best spaghetiiiiiii!!!” That’s probably not how the song goes but that was the only line that I remembered…and I LOVED spaghetti back when I was a child. I still do…anything with pasta in it is an immediate favorite.

Now this is a baked spaghetti recipe, so it’s more of a casserole style. It takes a lot longer, but I brought this to a 4th of July barbeque, and it was all gobbled up!

imageedit_3_2142828132

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups marinara sauce
  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • 1/2 cup diced green bell pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 8 ounces uncooked angel hair pasta
  • 1 cup grated cheddar
  • 1 cup grated Monterey Jack

Instructions:

Combine marinara sauce, onions, bell peppers, garlic, sugar, and any additional seasoning (Italian, House) of your choice and heat in a stockpot.

Bring to boil and let simmer, about 1 hour.

Crumble ground beef and cook over medium-high heat until no pink color remains.

Cook pasta according to package directions.

Cover bottom of a 9×13 inch pan with sauce.

Add layer of pasta and around 1/3 of cheese.

Repeat layers, ending with sauce on top.

Bake at 350 °F  for 30 minutes.

Top casserole with cheese and return to oven for another 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.

Cut into squares to serve, enjoy!

IMG_3875

IMG_3876

I fried some of the bell peppers, onions and garlic ahead of time just so that it would cook faster.

IMG_3878

Adding in the marinara sauce, letting it boil.

IMG_3880

Add your ground beef!

IMG_3883

Voila! This didn’t take as long as the recipe called for, because I used marinara sauce from a jar, instead of tomato sauce and ripe tomatoes.

IMG_3885

Begin your layers!

IMG_3886

Ready to go in the oven!

IMG_3887

Recipe adapted from Paula Deen’s recipe.  I simplified a lot of things, since I was in a rush and I didn’t have as many of the recipes so I just used some substitutes. I also don’t like cheese, so I didn’t add any of that…but really, this recipe can be quite flexible based off of your personal tastes! Check out her recipe as well!

Bon appétit! ♥

Leave a Reply

